Australian Society For Fish Biology

ASFB Early Career Excellence Award

The Australian Society for Fish Biology (ASFB) Early Career Excellence Award is given to an early career scientist (someone who is within five years of conferral of their last postgraduate degree) who has made an exceptional advance in the study of fish biology and/or fisheries that has fundamentally changed our understanding and/or management of fishes (fish includes commercially important molluscs and crustaceans). Only one award will be made in a given year, and only if a candidate of exceptional quality is nominated.


Nominations for the award are made by the full Executive Committee during May each year, and the winning candidate selected by a selection committee comprising a diversity of ASFB members (across age groups, gender & disciplines). For more information, or to suggest a nominee, please contact your State/Territory/NZ Representative on the ASFB Executive Council or the ASFB President. 
*Nominees must be ASFB financial members at the time of nomination.

Award Recipients

2018: Dr Kirsty Nash (University of Tasmania) fro contributions to our understanding of the functional and spatial ecology of marine fishes.

2017: Dr. Jennifer Donelson (James Cook University) for outstanding contributions to our understanding of the ecology and early life history of tropical fishes, and their capacity to acclimate to predicted environmental changes arising from marine climate change.

2016: Dr. Jason Thiem (NSW Department of Primary Industries) for exceptional contributions to the field of freshwater fish movement ecology and physiology. 

2014: Dr. John Morrongiello (University of Melbourne) for outstanding contributions to our understanding of life history effects in fish and fisheries, particulalry with respect to climate change, through the use of innovative modelling approaches.

2012: Assoc. Prof. Alison King (Charles Darwin University) has made significant contributions to the field of environmental flow restoration and was the first to highlight the importance of the main channel environment in the Murray-Darling Basin for rearing some fish species, even under low flow conditions. 

2011: Dr Rebecca Fisher (Oceans Institute, UWA) for contributions and breakthroughs in our understanding of larval fish dispersal and connectivity.