Australian Society For Fish Biology

Early Career International Travel Scholarship

This scholarship has been made available by the Australian Society for Fish Biology (ASFB) to support an early career scientist to present an oral paper at an international conference that is relevant to the activities of the ASFB. Only one scholarship will be given each year, and only if a candidate of acceptable quality applies. The scholarship will provide a return airfare, conference registration and accommodation up to a total value of $3,000, plus a full registration for the Scholar to attend the next ASFB annual conference where they will present the work as a plenary talk.

In 2017, the ASFB is pleased to be offering a second Early Career travel award to a woman who wishes to present at the 10th Indo-Pacific Fish Conference in Tahiti, and attend the women in science special session. Please apply in the same format and by the same due date as outlined below. In your cover letter, please include reasons why attending the women in science special session would be particularly beneficial for you. 

•    The award is open to early career scientists who are current financial members of ASFB at the time of the award presentation at the annual conference and who have been financial members of ASFB for at least 12 months prior to applying for the award; 
•    The early career applicant must apply within 5 years of the conferral of their last postgraduate degree (either a Masters or PhD) by an Australian or New Zealand University. Extensions to this eligibility timeframe due to career breaks will be considered upon application to the Committee;
•    An award will be made based on the application process outlined below. 
•    Judging for the award will be made by an anonymous Committee consisting of three ASFB members, and the decision of the Committee is final; and
•    The ASFB Early Career International Scholar must provide a written report of their experience for publication in the ASFB Newsletter.

Applications for the award must comprise the following:
i)    Cover Letter (2 pages max.) outlining what the applicant would like to present and which conference the applicant wishes to attend. Importantly, the letter should clearly state why this presentation would have major impact, and why this conference provides the ideal venue, time and location for the applicant to gain maximum impact and exposure for their work;
ii)    Curriculum Vitae (2 pages max.) outlining the awards, publications, patents, conference presentations and other information the committee may use to judge excellence and ability to present a quality conference paper;
iii)    Contact details for two referees who are aware of the work and can comment on the quality of the applicant and the research to be presented. 
Applications are due to the ASFB President by 31 May each year. 
For more information please contact your State/Territory/NZ Representative on the Executive Council or the ASFB President.

Award Recipients

2018: Winner - Justin Rizzari to support attendance at the ICCB meeting in Malaysia, 2019.

2017: Winners - Krystal Keller (Charles Darwin University) and Joel Williams (NSW Department of Primary Industries) to support attendance at the 10th Indo-Pacific Fish Conference.

2016: Winner - Stephanie Brodie (UNSW) to support attendance at the American Society for Limnology and Oceanography Aquatic Sciences Meeting, 

2015: Winner - Heidi Pethybridge (CSIRO, Hobart)

2014: Winner - Chris Izzo (University of Adelaide)
Runner-Up - Brendan Ebner (CSIRO & TropWATER, James Cook University)

2013: John Morrongiello (CSIRO) - to support his attendance at the upcoming 5th International Otolith Symposium in Mallorca, Spain in October 2014.

2012: Kathryn Hassell (University of Melbourne) - to support her oral presentation at the annual meeting of the Asia-Pacific branch of the Society for Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC-AP).

 2011: Jan-Olaf Meynecke (Griffith University)  - to support the presentation of his mud crab research at the 50th Estuarine and Coastal Sciences Association (ECSA) symposium in 2012.